Rubber, Meet Road.

Dear Fibro,

I know I’m flaunting this slightly-more-aggressive approach to you, and you might soon decide you’d like to take me down for the count with a bad flare-up, but for now, I’m rolling along with the momentum. Tonight, I went to see a stand-up comedy performance nearby. A friend had invited me because it was a benefit event for the non-profit organization for which she works. I was a little tired and foggy heading to the venue (read–feeling exhausted and ready for bed and like everything was swirling in one of your famous blurs), and I had that feeling like you were squeezing the muscles in my legs in your toughest grip.

But I decided this was a great chance to practice what I’ve been saying about pushing forward. And it was! I had a really nice time at the show, and I realized afterward that the laughter helped me to take my mind off of you for a while. I know there are days when pain might make it just downright too difficult to do things like this, but on any days when it’s borderline, I’m going to give myself the benefit of the doubt and try to keep going.

Tomorrow night, I have plans to go to dinner and see MacBeth with a friend of mine, and I plan to do so, with you in tow. I do hope that you will be polite . . . or at least keep quiet so I can enjoy another fun night. Hope you’re having some fun, too!

~Nicole

P.S. Did you know that the phrase ‘screw your courage to the sticking place’ is in the play MacBeth and also in a song sung by the character Gaston in Disney’s Beauty and the Beast. Now you know.

Leave a Reply

